Home

Viking Ship

The Viking Tours is a member of the following:

   

  • The Heritage Boat Association, National Historic Ship 1923
  • Maritime Institute of Ireland.
  • Inland Waterways Association of Ireland,
  • RNLI,
  • Birdwatch Ireland,
  • Irish Peatland Conservation Council,
  • Irish Wildlife Trust,
  • Midland Vintage & Classic Car Club,
  • Old Athlone Society,
  • Athlone Architectural Heritage Group
  • St Johns Parish Heritage Group
  • Mid Ireland Tourism,
  • Athlone.ie
  • Chamber of Commerce.
  • Lions Club Athlone
Viking Membership
Thurs 21st Aug International Customs Attache Clonmacnois Sailing at 2.30 pm +++ Mon 25th Aug Abbey Tours Clonmacnois Sailing at 2.00 pm +++ Wed 27th Aug Ericsson Social Club Cruise & BBQ +++ Thurs 28th HSE Wineport Sailing +++ Sat 30th Aug Slieve Bloom Assoc Annual Sailing +++ Mon 1st Sept Marco Polo Clonmacnois Sailing at 11.00 am +++ Friday 5th Aug KPMG Annual Cruise +++ Mon 8th Sept Marco Polo Clonmacnois Sailing at 11.00 am +++ Tues 9th Sept Joe O'Reilly Group Clonmacnois Sailing at 3.00 pm +++ Wed 10th Sept Forestry Retirement Assoc Clonmacnois Sailing at 9.30 am +++ Thurs 11th Sept Abbey Tours Clonmacnois Sailing at 3.45 pm +++ Fri 12th Sept Abbey Tours Clonmacnois Sailing at 10.45 am +++ Tues 16th Sept Joe O'Reilly Group Clonmacnois Sailing at 8.45 am +++ Tues 23rd Sept Joe O'Reilly Group Clonmacnois Sailing at 8.45 am +++
The Viking Ships have been sailing around our coasts since 795. The River Shannon is the main artery through the country and we know the Vikings arrived by river in Clonmacnois in 842. Clonmacnois is 90 minutes(one way) from Athlone by river and is the perfect way to approach this famous monastic site. The Lough Ree Cruise(approx 75 minutes) normally goes upstream to the Hodson Bay and returns. Why don't you board the Viking Ship which departs from the Quay at Athlone Castle daily to Lough Ree the 'Lake of the Kings' and with bookings to Clonmacnois. Season normally runs from Easter to October

Viking Fares

Lough Ree   ( Daily ) 75 minutes

Adults: €10
Children €5
Families €30 (2 adults & 4 children)

Clonmacnois* ( Not Daily ) 90 mins one way

Includes bus fare return (30 mins)

Adults: €16
Children €8
Families €50 (2 adults & 4 children)

*Please note vessel does not remain at Clonmacnois

Approx 90 mins allowed for visit to the monastic settlement before bus returns

Group Rates on Request (30 Pax Minimum)

Viking Rules

The Captain reserves the right to refuse passage & to change sailing times, schedules and embarkation/disembarkation point without prior notice and some sailings may also be subject to minimum numbers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today Thursday 21st August

Athlone Castle
 
Hodson Bay Stop
 10:00
-   10:45
 11:30
-   12:15
  1:00
-    1:45*
2:30 to - Clonmacnois
  
-   

* Does not return to Hodson Bay

 

Tomorrow Friday 22nd August

Athlone
Castle
 
Hodson
Bay Stop
 10:30
-   11:15
 12:00
-   12:45
  1:30
-    2:15
  3:00
-   3:45*
  
-   

 

* Does not return to Hodson Bay  

 

Viking Chat

Hello We love to Chat

Valhalla

Viking Calendar of Events

Viking Translate

English French German Irish Italian Norwegian Portuguese Russian Spanish

Phone: 086 262 1136
e-mail: vikingmike

Clonmacnois Cruises 90 minutes (one way)

(Confirmed to Date)

From Athlone Castle

Thursday 21st August at 2.30 pm

Sunday 24th August at 11.30 am

Monday 25th August at 2.00 pm

Monday 1st September at 11.00 am

Monday 8th September at 11.30 am

Tuesday 9th September at 3.00 pm

Wednesday 10th September at 9.30 am

Thursday 11th September at 3.45 pm

Friday 12th September at 10.30 am

Tuesday 16th September at 8.45 am

Tuesday 23rd September at 8.45 am

Tuesday 30th September at 8.30 am

Monday 6th October at 11.00 am

(ST) Denotes School Tour on Board