Thurs 2nd July

Athlone Castle
 
Hodson Bay Stop
      10:00
      10:45
      11:30
      12:15
       1:00
-      1:45
       4:30
-
     5:15*
  -      

No need to book

*Last sailing does not return to Hodson Bay

 

Fri 3rd July

Athlone Castle   Hodson Bay Stop
      10:30
       11:15
      12:00
-      12:45
       2:00
-       2:45
       4:00
-       4:45*
     

No need to book

*Last sailing does not return to Hodson Bay

 

Sat 4th July

Athlone Castle   Hodson Bay Stop
      09:30
-     10:15
      11:00
-     11:45
      12:30
-      1:15
       3:30
-      4:30*
 
-   

No need to book

*Last sailing does not return to Hodson Bay

 

The Viking Ship season normally runs from Easter to the end of October

The Viking Ships have been sailing around our coasts since 795. The River Shannon is the main artery through the country and we know the Vikings arrived by river in Clonmacnois in 842. Clonmacnois is 90 minutes(one way) from Athlone by river and is the perfect way to approach this famous monastic site. The Lough Ree Cruise(approx 75 minutes) normally goes upstream to the Hodson Bay and returns. Why don't you board the Viking Ship which departs from the Quay at Athlone Castle daily to Lough Ree the 'Lake of the Kings' and with bookings to Clonmacnois. Season normally runs from Easter to October

Viking Rules

The Captain reserves the right to refuse passage & to change sailing times, schedules and embarkation/disembarkation point without prior notice and some sailings may also be subject to minimum numbers.

 

Season Normally Runs From EASTER to the End of OCTOBER : Departs & returns to quayside at Athlone Castle

Clonmacnois Cruises Dates and Times (90 mins (one way))

Clonmacnois Cruises 90 minutes (one way)

(Confirmed to Date for 2015)

From Athlone Castle

Mon 6th July at 2.00 pm

Mon 13th July at 11.30 am

Thurs 16th July at 10.00 am

Mon 20th July at 10.00 am

Tues 21st July at 10.00 am

Thurs 23rd July at 12.00 pm

Mon 27th July at 11.30 am

Mon 27th July at 2.00 pm

Wed 29th July at 8.45 am

Mon 10th August at 11.30 am

Mon 17th August at 11.30 am

Thurs 27th August at 10.00 am

Mon 31st August at 11.30 am

Thurs 3rd September at 9.00 am

Mon 7th September at 11.30 am

Sat 12th September at 10.30 am

Wed 16th September at 10.30 am

Sun 20th September at 2.30 pm

Mon 21st September at 11.30 am

Mon 5th October at 11.30 am

(ST) Denotes School Tour on Board

 

Viking Fares

Lough Ree (Daily) 75 minutes return

 

No need to book : Tickets purchased on board

 

Adults: €10
Children €5
Families €30 (2 adults & 4 children)

 

*Please note last Lough Ree Sailing does not return to the Hodson Bay

 

Clonmacnois* ( Not Daily ) 90 mins one way

 

Includes bus fare return (30 mins)

 

Adults: €16
Children €8
Families €50 (2 adults & 4 children)

 

*Please note vessel does not remain at Clonmacnois

 

Approx 90 mins allowed for visit to the monastic settlement before bus returns

 

All sailings depart and return to quayside at Athlone Castle unless otherwise stated

Group Rates on Request (30 Pax Minimum)

Viking Translate

  • scary.jpg
  • vship3.jpg
  • 74546.jpg
  • clonmac.jpg
  • wildlife3.jpg
  • vkid.jpg
  • 10151757_445870532224798_1911077080124035955_n.jpg
  • vikingsh1p.jpg
  • lock.jpg
  • wildlife4.jpg
  • vship.jpg
  • wildlife2.jpg
  • vikingX.jpg
  • lazy.jpg
  • cert.jpg

Viking Memberships

The Viking Tours is a member of the following:

   

  • The Heritage Boat Association, National Historic Ship 1923
  • Maritime Institute of Ireland.
  • Inland Waterways Association of Ireland,
  • RNLI,
  • Birdwatch Ireland,
  • Irish Peatland Conservation Council,
  • Irish Wildlife Trust,
  • Midland Vintage & Classic Car Club,
  • Old Athlone Society,
  • Athlone Architectural Heritage Group
  • St Johns Parish Heritage Group
  • Mid Ireland Tourism,
  • Athlone.ie
  • Chamber of Commerce.
  • Lions Club Athlone
 

Viking Wifi

Wifi is free on board

We Love the Midlands