Home

Viking Ship

The Viking Tours is a member of the following:

   

  • The Heritage Boat Association, National Historic Ship 1923
  • Maritime Institute of Ireland.
  • Inland Waterways Association of Ireland,
  • RNLI,
  • Birdwatch Ireland,
  • Irish Peatland Conservation Council,
  • Irish Wildlife Trust,
  • Midland Vintage & Classic Car Club,
  • Old Athlone Society,
  • Athlone Architectural Heritage Group
  • St Johns Parish Heritage Group
  • Mid Ireland Tourism,
  • Athlone.ie
  • Chamber of Commerce.
  • Lions Club Athlone
Viking Membership
2015 Season Opens at Easter on the 28th March 2015 (Weather & Water levels permitting) +++ +++ +++
The Viking Ships have been sailing around our coasts since 795. The River Shannon is the main artery through the country and we know the Vikings arrived by river in Clonmacnois in 842. Clonmacnois is 90 minutes(one way) from Athlone by river and is the perfect way to approach this famous monastic site. The Lough Ree Cruise(approx 75 minutes) normally goes upstream to the Hodson Bay and returns. Why don't you board the Viking Ship which departs from the Quay at Athlone Castle daily to Lough Ree the 'Lake of the Kings' and with bookings to Clonmacnois. Season normally runs from Easter to October

Viking Fares

Lough Ree   ( Daily ) 75 minutes

Adults: €10
Children €5
Families €30 (2 adults & 4 children)

Clonmacnois* ( Not Daily ) 90 mins one way

Includes bus fare return (30 mins)

Adults: €16
Children €8
Families €50 (2 adults & 4 children)

*Please note vessel does not remain at Clonmacnois

Approx 90 mins allowed for visit to the monastic settlement before bus returns

Group Rates on Request (30 Pax Minimum)

Viking Rules

The Captain reserves the right to refuse passage & to change sailing times, schedules and embarkation/disembarkation point without prior notice and some sailings may also be subject to minimum numbers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Saturday 28th March

Athlone Castle
 
Hodson Bay Stop
  12:00 -   12:45

  1:30

-   2:15
  3:00 -   3:45*
  -  
  -  

* Does not return to Hodson Bay

 

Sunday 29th March 2015

Athlone
Castle
 
Hodson
Bay Stop
  1:00 -   1:45
  3:00 -   3:45*
  -  
 
-  
  
-  

           

* Does not return to Hodson Bay  

 

Viking Chat

Hello We love to Chat

Valhalla

Viking Calendar of Events

Viking Translate

English French German Irish Italian Norwegian Portuguese Russian Spanish

Phone: 086 262 1136
e-mail: vikingmike

Clonmacnois Cruises 90 minutes (one way)

(Confirmed to Date for 2015)

From Athlone Castle

Monday 27th April at 10.15 am

Tuesday 5th May at 3.00 pm

Wednesday 6th May at 3.00 pm

Saturday 9th May at 10.00 am

Friday 15th May at 11.00 am

Tuesday 19th May at 3.00 pm

Wednesday 27th May at 3.00 pm

Tuesday 2nd June at 9.00 am

Thursday 4th June at 4.00 pm

Saturday 6th June at 2.30 pm

Friday 12th June at 12.30 pm

Mon 15th June at 11.00 am (ST)

Tuesday 16th June at 3.00 pm

Thursday 18th June at 12.00 pm

Monday 29th June at 11.15 am

Tuesday 30th June at 10.00 am

Monday 13th July at 11.00 am

Monday 20th July at 10.00 am

Tuesday 21st July at 10.00 am

Monday 27th July at 11.00 am

Monday 10th August at 11.00 am

Monday 17th August at 11.00 am

Monday 31st August at 11.00 am

Monday 7th September at 11.00 am

Saturday 12th September at 10.30 am

Monday 21st September at 11.00 am

Monday 5th October at 11.00 am

 

 

(ST) Denotes School Tour on Board